My husband is an amazing father. He is so kind, generous and loving. He would give you the shirt off his back if you asked for it! He is patient beyond my comprehension (he is married to me!) and he is fun. When I think of the definition of a great father- those would be the top qualities I would list.

I saw these qualities in him before we were even dating. He would have his little sisters with him often and I saw how he treated them. He knew how to be firm, yet loving. I admired that in him. Those qualities were something I searched for in my future mate. I knew he would make a great father, which grew into, I couldn’t imagine anyone else being the father of my children.

Before we became parents, I would babysit quite often. He was always more than accommodating to my “kids”. He would help if I needed it and would join in on the fun of entertaining little ones. He proved me right yet again.

Our first child was a girl. The day she was born was a turning point in our relationship. He changed that day. I could see it in him. I didn’t think it was possible for me to ever love him more- then we had a daughter. The fierceness of his love for her (the same feelings that I felt) caused me to fall in love with him all over again. He was softer and sweeter, yet stronger, and my daughter is to thank for that.

Her first year was amazing. I loved being a mother and enjoyed every change she went through. She was smiles and giggles and tons of fun to dress up. So sweet and cute with her chubby legs and toothless grin. I nursed her for 13 mos. I think that’s part of the reason she was Mommy’s Girl. She loved her Daddy, but Mommy could fix anything. She would come to me crying or for help. She was my sweetheart. I didn’t realize until recently how much I loved that.

She is now three and still the light of my life. She is sweet and kind. Those chubby thighs are now LONG skinny legs, the toothless grin replaced by a mouthful of teeth. But one thing has changed even more than that- she is Daddy’s Girl.

Growing up, I always considered myself a Daddy’s girl. I was the baby of five and according to my siblings, spoiled rotten. My sister even had me ask my Daddy to get her a new car. And, it worked! I loved being Daddy’s Girl. At 26 years old, I still call him Daddy. (something my daughter is trying to figure out!) I understand the connection and had always prayed my daughter would experience that. I guess I just never realized that meant she wasn’t Mommy’s Girl anymore….

I never thought I would be jealous of my husband over our children’s affection. I never thought I’d be announcing to the world either. But if I examine it closely enough, I guess that’s what I’m saying. When Daddy is home, I am second best. “Daddy will get me milk, Daddy can take me to the potty, Daddy can turn on a movie, Daddy will read me a book”. It’s kind of nice to get a break when I do these things day in and day out, but I can’t help but realize a pang of hurt in those times. She’s only three and she is already becoming so independent. She can do so much for herself already. And now she doesn’t even want me to help in the times she does need a hand.

I’d be stupid if I thought that’s all motherhood was- doing things for your kids. But I’d be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy being the one to do those things. I take pride in my job. Being a mother is my #1 job and to have someone dethrone me from my position (that I believe I do quite well) is not a good feeling.

Let me take a second to interject for those of you who think “wow, what a complaint!”. I am not saying I don’t want my daughter to run to her Daddy. I love the fact that she wants him to be involved. More than that- I love that he loves to be involved. I love that my husband is a hands-on Daddy. He knows what’s going on in each one of their lives. I am so blessed beyond my imagination. I guess I just wanted to state that I’m having a hard time with this transition. Seeing my daughter need/want me less makes me sad that time has passed so quickly. I can foresee the day when she won’t need me to lay out her clothes, or fix her hair. I know the day is coming when she will want to hang out with her friends rather than us. I just want us (either one) to be the one she runs to when she is in trouble. I want her to know that even though Mommy might not always be cool- She will always be my princess.

I guess this is just an all-to-real reminder that time doesn’t slow down. She will grow up- and so will my boys. So I better enjoy them being attached to me while I still can. I will cherish the cries for mommy more, I will try to remember this when all I want is a moment alone. Funny the things I used to complain about are now the things I miss most.

