My Daughter has this overwhelming desire to take things with her wherever she goes. Now, by everywhere, I don’t just mean in the car with us to the store. I mean, to the living room, the bathroom, my bedroom – It’s quite hilarious actually…

She will grab a plate that’s about 4 inches in diameter. She will then stack on this tiny plate a ball, a teacup, a phone, a shoe, a barbie, some form of accessory for said barbie, a necklace, and a crown. Attempting to carry the whole lot of things to the living room, she inevitably drops at least two things. Now comes the comedy show, she bends down to pick up the items, and invariably drops three more. So, the process begins all over again. This happens at least 4 times from her bedroom to the living room (a massive 10 feet). Every time she adds another item, one inevitably falls off.

I have offered to help her several times this happens, sometimes she accepts my help, other times she insists she is a “big girl” and “I can do it myself!”

I have recently realized the parallel that this scenario holds to my life. It seems I have about 20 things I want/need to do in my life on a weekly basis. My problem is- the size of my plate is invariably smaller than those twenty items. It can fit roughly 15 items, occasionally 16 or 17, but when I place the 18th item on the plate- something falls. I love to blog, there are weeks I will blog 5 times, and I can’t wait to write my next piece. I finally get a spare moment to blog, but then I end up staying up late to finish and loose time I could have spent sleeping. There are the staple things that must get done (cleaning, nursing, laundry, work, dishes, meals) but even they sometimes fall off the plate when I spend too much time doing my electives (sewing, singing, couponing, blogging, running).

Occasionally I will have an offer of help, and I am quite like my daughter in my repsonse. Sometimes I do allow others to help, yet other times I insist that “I got this” or “it’s no big deal”. As a perfectionist, I prefer for things to be done MY way, and as a result, I (most of the time) have to do it myself.

One of my good friends has found a new look on life lately that I am trying to adopt. She has decided that life really isn’t worth getting stressed out about and it will all work out one way or the other. Essentially, it’s what a biblical world view is all about. The Bible states “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.” (Romans 8:28 KJV) Also “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” (Jeremiah 29:11 NIV) The whole basis of Christianity is trust. We live trusting that His plan is what we seek- and it’s usually a whole lot better than the plans we have for ourself.

I believe I will continue juggling the 20 or so things I have/want to do, but I would like to stress less about getting them all done. Until they invent 30 hours days, I’m pretty sure I can’t fit it all in. Or until my kids get old enough to have chores…. Not sure which will come first šŸ™‚

