September has finally brought cooler temperatures to Texas. Unfortunately, just for a short time- but I’ll take it! My kids have been outside every day since it dipped under a hundred. The other morning, as we were getting in the car to go to Addisyn’s school, she actually asked for a jacket. She said she was cold. HA! It was like 75! šŸ™‚ She’s a true Texas born girl! I think it’s funny, because….. I almost agreed! I prefer the heat to cool. I was born in Wisconsin, but I can’t say I’d ever want to live there. I’d rather have 60+ days of over 100 then winters of 40 below 0. NOT what I would enjoy.

So, the other day, we ventured to the park to play with friends. It was a beautiful 90something and totally worth the trip. There were 7 children between the three of us, and it went pretty well, until….

Addisyn took off to play in the maze, Tyce was run it towards the swings and Zayd was getting a tad bit fussy. I had just decided I would get him out of the stroller and let him crawl a little. I called addisyn to confirm where she was, but instead of a verbal response (something we have been working on – yes, ma’am) she ran to find me (which is also totally acceptable!). However, in her haste, she tripped and fell. I did get a verbal response- of screams! As she begins to wail, I place Zayd back in the stroller – a decision he was none to happy with. I bend to pick her up as a familiar cry is now heard directly behind me. Keep in mind, Zayd and Addisyn are both in shambles, yet this cry is different. I turn to find Tyce faceplanted into the ground. I set Addisyn on a picnic table, scoop up Tyce, and place him right next to her. Thankfully, I have my handy first aid kit packed in the diaper bag. Which I realize is firmly wedged in the stroller beneath Zayds bottom. (fail) A little maneuvering releases the little packet (which might as well have been a bar of solid gold at this moment). I choose to tend to Addisyn first mostly because onceshe is calm, usually the boys follow suit. But also- she was bleeding from both knees and Tyce didn’t seem that bad. Thankfully, princess bandaids and neo-to-go apparently cure any and all boo-boo’s of three year old girls!

I turn to tend to Tyce and realize, not only is his face full of dirt- his mouth is full of blood! After resisting a small heart attack for not noticing that in the first place, I practically have to pin him to the table to check his teeth. Many more wails later (I cleaned his face with a wipe!) he finally calms down (now fascinated with previous stated wipe). it’s amazing how different boys are from girls- although one thing remains the same. Seeing how Addisyn received bandaids for her boo boo’s, Tyce demanded his knee needed one as well. Good news was…. I had one baindaid left after Addisyn used three. Bad news… It, too, was a princess bandaid. Try explaining to a 21 month old boy that he doesn’t want to wear princess…. Not a battle I wanted to fight with an already injured ego. So, I didn’t. My son (the true man he is) proudly smiled at the snow white band aid on his left knee.

At this point, I still have a whining baby girl, a semi-pacified 21 month old, and a screaming 7 month old. I plant myself on the picnic bench and console the older two as I wrangle Zayd out of the stroller. Addisyn quickly decides that playing is more enticing, followed quickly by her younger brother. Zayd and I are left in peace (he us now happy- Mommy is holding him!)

Needless to say, I think we stayed maybe 20 minutes after that point. But all-in-all, it was a successful trip. I survived, yet another, incident with my three full-of-energy kiddos. I was almost proud of myself for not panicking. It seems every experience gives me more confidence in my ability to actually do this! And yes- I still wonder daily what God was thinking. But I now know- I wouldn’t change a thing. He was – and always is – right. He will never give us more than we can handle. He knows our heart, our strengths, and our weaknesses. Motherhood seems to reveal to me so many more weaknesses than I thought I had. But somehow, I think that’s part of it. The more I see, the more I cling to Him, the more I realize I am nothing and He is everything. My everything. How grateful I am to have my hands full.

Full of good things!

