11 mile run- blasted it out of the water this week! Its the farthest I’ve ever run. I doubted myself a couple times, but made it through.

I ran 4.5 miles without walking. I believe that is also a new record. Mile 5 was the most enjoyable. The sunrise was B E A U TIFUL. The pinks and blues were so vibrant and the sun was peeking through the clouds. I now wish I would’ve stopped to take out my phone and get a picture. Though, I doubt I would have done it justice.

My new birthday running shoes proved to be very comfortable. My other birthday present was nice- a camelback for my long runs. It bothered me at first, but after finding the right fit- it was perfect. I loved how I could get a drink while still running. It didn’t spill, and it lasted to 10.5 miles!!!

The last 12 minutes I kept repeating to myself 12 more min- like a personal mantra. I knew I could do it, but my legs were so tired. It ended up being only 11 minutes and was so fulfilling to read 11.00 miles on my running app. (yes- they do have an app for that!)

I took some great advice to heart this week from a fellow runner- just enjoy the run. I took in everything I could, the sights and smells. I savored listening to my music and just being alone for over 2 hours. I really think that’s one reason I love to run so much. It affords me time to think, time to focus, without someone interrupting my every thought.

I’d like to think it makes me a better mom. I feel more aware of my kids when I get my me time. I have more to give them when I get to focus. I pray often while running. I worship along with the music- sometimes I even raise my hands to encourage myself. I’m pretty sure I look like a crazy lunatic. (insert phoebe running in central park scene here) But it’s true- when am I ever gonna see these people again?! I mean, will anyone in the cars passing me really think- hey, I think I know her from somewhere!

Mile one and two are always the hardest for me. Once I get in a rhythm, it’s hard to stop. Once you have a couple miles under your belt, the mountain ahead doesn’t seem so big. Its the first 20 minutes I have to keep myself from walking. If I can do that- I can run for two hours! (hopefully!)

Now on to next week- 12miles. If I can keep up my pace- I’ll beat my goal of 2:15. But truthfully, I’ll just be glad to finish. I can’t wait to cross that finish line and get my medal. That’s the image that keeps me going. Only 4 weeks and 3 days to go!!!!

