The world has been screaming at me a lot lately. A mess of mangled, tangled voices that shout to me what to do, what to think, how to react, how I should feel, who I am. They scream so loudly sometimes I can’t hear my own voice. They try to bring me down, down to reality- or the reality that they define as real. They try to depress and shut me up. Shut me out. Close my eyes. Make me cry. Steal my joy.

It makes it hard to concentrate on anything but what the world says is true. It shakes my faith, questions my beliefs and dares me to give up.

I hear the world through my circumstance. Telling me that this is the way it will always be. Crushing my hope and feeding me lies.

I hear the world through my children sometimes. Telling me that I am not “mom” enough to face yet another tantrum, or accident, or fight, or screaming match.

I hear the world through my mirror- telling me I’m too fat or too ugly or too frumpy or too disheveled.

I hear the world tell me that I am not enough. That nothing that I do can change this. That there is no hope. No joy. No life beyond what I see.

If you stop and listen- you will hear it too. Those doubts that spring up. Those feelings of inferiority. Those dark nights that never seem to dawn into a new day.

But those voices, those words, those lies are just that- lies. Lies that are oh so easy to believe if we allow ourselves to.
If the truth of His word is hidden from our view, the lies seem to resonate as truth. If we forget to daily feed ourself His truth, the only truth, we will only have one choice left- to be deceived into believing that this reality is truth.

But when I dig into his word, the truth- I am told that reality isn’t what we see.

Reality is that He “Who has measured the waters in the hollow of His hand, Measured heaven with a span And calculated the dust of the earth in a measure.” He “Weighed the mountains in scales And the hills in a balance.”(Isaiah 40:12 NKJV)
Reality is that “If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? (Matthew 6:30 NIV)”
Reality is that “I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. (Jeremiah 29:11 NIV)”
Reality is “And the Lord, He is the One who goes before you. He will be with you, He will not leave you nor forsake you; do not fear nor be dismayed.” (Deuteronomy 31:8 NKJV)
Reality is that “all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose. (Romans 8:28 NKJV)” Reality tells me that we are “more than conquerors through Him who loved us.” (Romans 8:37 NKJV)

Those are the things that seem to be drowned out by the screams of the world- by the voices of doubt and despair.

And it’s so very easy to forget those words of hope, those words of truth. I am oh so guilty of seeing reality instead of looking for His truth. Lets remind ourselves that this world is not our home. “But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body. (Philippians 3:20, 21 NIV)”

These trials, these tests, these heartaches and failure are not the culmination of our life, our purpose or our destiny. Paul said “I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.” (Romans 8:18 NIV)

We have choice, my friends. What voices will you choose to listen to?

