I sit here tonight in silence feeling the rise and fall of my daughters chest against mine. She is here, finally in my arms and all I can do is stare. Her lips are so perfect, fashion by Gods hand and painted a perfect rosy pink. The creases in her feet are so very deep she resembles her sister when she has been in the water a little too long. Her full head of raven black hair tickles my chin as I breathe in her scent. The scent of life. The scent of hope. The scent of newness.
If there is one word I could use to describe her and her 5 days on earth thusfar, I would have to choose peace. She is so very peaceful. Even her cries are soft. She is the least demanding child I have ever known. Her body melts into mine every time she nurses, and she ministers peace to my soul. I am content.
In the midst of the chaos and noise which has not lessened nor subsided since her coming, she is peaceful. When her 2 year old brother attempts to pick her up “all by myself” she is yet peaceful. When her oldest brother describes the Spider-Man airplane to her in great detail, she listens peacefully. When her sister kisses her for the umpteenth time, she accepts peacefully.
This child has lived out her name overwhelmingly in the past 5 days. From the lengthy unpredictable labor and delivery to this very night of cuddles and kisses, I have seen God be my gracious help.
And all I can do is be amazed by his goodness towards me. I am so very grateful for this blessing. I am so very happy for new life. I am so very excited for my girls as they embark on a relationship that will last a lifetime and beyond – sisterhood. I am so very blessed to be able to see my girls form that bond over the next few decades. I am blessed to have had, even for a short time, my sister whom I miss so very deeply in this time. But I am blessed to have known that bond of sisterhood.
In the quiet of this night, I listen to her breath. I feel her heartbeat. And I am content.
Thank you Lord for answered prayers.

I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. (Philippians 4:11 NIV)

